Welcome to the State of California

 

Commission Members

August 2014

R. Zachary Wasserman, Chair
Wendel Rosen Black & Dean, LLP
1111 Broadway, 24th Floor
Oakland, CA 94607
Telephone: (510) 834-6600
Fax: (510) 808-4691
E-Mail: zwasserman@wendel.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Brown
on 02/14/12
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Anne Halsted, Vice Chair
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 398-6315
E-Mail: ahalsted@aol.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Davis
on 02/23/01
Re-appointed by Governor Schwarzenegger on 05/06/05
Alternate:  Chappell

Susan Adams
Marin County Board of Supervisors
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 329
San Rafael, CA 94903-4193
Telephone: (415) 473-7331
Fax: (415) 473-3645
E-Mail: sadams@marincounty.org
Alternate to Sears
Appointed by: Marin County
on 01/11/05
Re-appointed: 06/21/11

Mark Addiego
City Hall
400 Grand Avenue
South San Francisco, CA 94080
Telephone: (650) 877-8500
Fax: (650) 829-6609
E-Mail: mark.addiego@ssf.net
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/20/11
Alternate:  Cohen

Newsha Ajami
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
E-mail: newsha.ajami@gmail.com
Alternate to McGrath
Appointed by: Regional Water Quality Control Board on 10/16/13
 
Ana Apodaca
City of Newark
37101 Newark Boulevard
Newark, CA 94560
Telephone: (510) 578-4000 Ext. 120
Fax: (510) 578-4306
E-Mail: ana.apodaca@newark.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/20/11
Alternate:  Natarajan

Joshua Arce
1028A Howard Street
San Francisco, CA 94103
Telephone: (415) 252-9700
Fax: (415) 252-9775
E-Mail: josharce.bcdc@gmail.com
Alternate to Gibbs
Appointed by: Speaker of the Assembly on 06/12/13

Tom Bates
City of Berkeley
2180 Milvia Street, 5th Floor
Berkeley, CA 94704-1308
Telephone: (510) 981-7100
Fax: (510) 981-7199
E-Mail: mayor@ci.berkeley.ca.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 01/16/03
Alternate:  Butt

Jason Brush
EPA-Region 9 (WTR-1)
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 972-3483
Fax: (415) 947-3537
E-Mail: brush.jason@epa.gov
Alternate to Sam Ziegler
Appointed by: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
on 02/25/10

Thomas Butt
City of Richmond
235 East Scenic Avenue
Richmond, CA  94801
Telephone: (510) 620-6581
Fax: (510) 232-5325
E-Mail: tom.butt@intres.com
Alternate to Bates
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 05/20/11

Keith Caldwell
Napa County
1195 Third Street, Room 310
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 253-4386
Fax: (707) 253-4176
E-Mail: keith.caldwell@countyofnapa.org
Alternate to Wagenknecht
Appointed by: Napa County
on 01/06/09
Re-appointed on 01/11/11

Wilma Chan
Alameda County Board of Supervisors
1221 Oak Street, Suite 536
Oakland, CA 94612
Telephone: (510) 272-6693
Fax: (510) 208-3910
E-Mail: wilma.chan@acgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by:
Alameda County
on 01/11/11
Alternate: Gilmore

Jim Chappell
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 352-3606
E-Mail: chappell_jim@att.net
Alternate: Halsted
Appointed by: Governor Davis
on 05/29/02

David Chiu
City and County of San Francisco
City Hall, Room 264
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, Ca  94102
Phone # (415) 554-7450
Fax #  (415) 554-7454
E-Mail: David.Chiu@sfgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: City and County of San Francisco
on 03/17/09
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Malia Cohen
City and County of San Francisco
City Hall, Room 244
1 Dr. Carlton B. Goodlett Place
San Francisco, CA  94102
Phone # (415) 554-7672
Fax #  (415) 554-7674
E-Mail: Malia.Cohen@sfgov.org
Alternate to Addiego
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 03/31/11

Dave Cortese
County of Santa Clara
70 West Hedding Street, 10th Floor
San Jose, CA 95110
Telephone: (408) 299-5030
Fax: (408) 298-6637
E-Mail: dave.cortese@bos.sccgov.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Santa Clara County
on 01/27/12; reappointed on 02/12/13
Alternate: Scharff

Abe Doherty
California Natural Resources Agency
1416 Ninth Street, Room 1311
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 653-0540
Fax: (916) 653-8102
E-Mail: abe.doherty@resources.ca.gov
Alternate to Vierra
Appointed by: Secretary of Resources
on 07/15/13

Karen Finn
Department of Finance
915 L Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 324-0043
Fax: (916) 322-0717
E-Mail: karen.finn@dof.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: Department of Finance
on 05/15/07
Alternate: (Vacant)

Geoffrey Gibbs
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
Fax: (415) 352-3606
Commissioner
Appointed by: Speaker of the Assembly on 06/08/05
Alternate:  Arce

Marie Gilmore
City of Alameda
2263 Santa Clara Avenue, Room 320
Alameda, CA 94501-4477
Telephone: (510) 747-4701
Fax: (510) 865-1498
E-Mail: mgilmore@ci.alameda.ca.us
Alternate to Chan
Appointed by: Alameda County on 03/15/11

John Gioia
Contra Costa County
11780 San Pablo Ave., Suite D
El Cerrito, CA 94530
Telephone: (510) 374-3231
Fax: (510) 374-3429
E-Mail: john.gioia@bos.cccounty.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: Contra Costa County on 01/05/99
Alternate: (Vacant)

Susan Gorin
County of Sonoma
575 Administration Drive, Room 100A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Telephone: (707) 565-2241
Fax: (707) 565-3778
E-Mail: Susan.Gorin@sonoma-county.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Sonoma County
on 01/08/13
Alternate: Zane

Carole Groom
Hall of Justice and Records
400 County Center
Redwood City, CA 94063
Telephone: (650) 363-4568
Fax: (650) 366-6762
E-Mail: CGroom@co.sanmateo.ca.us
Alternate to Pine
Appointed by:
San Mateo County on 12/15/10

Jane Hicks
U.S. Army Corps of Engineers
1455 Market Street, Room 1656
San Francisco, CA 94103-1398
Telephone: (415) 503-6771
Fax: (415) 503-6690
E-Mail: jane.m.hicks@usace.army.mil
Commissioner
Appointed by: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers on 03/24/05
Alternate: (Vacant)

Daniel Hillmer
City of Larkspur
400 Magnolie Street
Larkspur, CA 94939
Telephone: (415) 927-5110
E-mail: dhillmer@cityoflarkspur.org
Alternate to Techel
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments 05/02/13

Colleen Jordan Hallinan
Hewins Financial Advisors, LLC
400 S. El Camino Real, Suite 800
San Mateo, CA 94402
Telephone: (650) 645-1403
Fax: (650) 372-0813
E-Mail: cjordan@hewinsfinancial.com
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Schwarzenegger
on 05/06/05
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Jennifer Lucchesi
State Lands Commission
100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100-South
Sacramento, CA 95825-8202
Telephone: (916) 574-1800
E-Mail: Jennifer.Lucchesi@slc.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: State Lands Commission
on 05/13/13
Alternate: Pemberton

Dan McElhinney
California Department of Transportation
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Telephone: (510) 286-5906
Fax: (510) 286-5903
E-Mail: dan_mcelhinney@dot.ca.gov
Alternate to Sartipi
Appointed by: California State Transportation Agency on 04/30/12

Jim McGrath
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3600
E-Mail: macmcgrath@comcast.net
Commissioner
Appointed by: Regional Water Quality Control Board on 02/22/08
Alternate: Abe-Koga

Anu Natarajan
City of Fremont
3300 Capitol Avenue
Fremont, CA 94538
Telephone: (510) 284-4082
E-mail: anatarajan@fremont.gov
Alternate to Apodaca
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments 05/20/13

Barry Nelson
Natural Resources Defense Council
111 Sutter Street, 20th Floor
San Francisco, CA 94104
Telephone: (415) 875-6100
Fax:  (415) 875-6161
E-Mail: bnelson@nrdc.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Senate Rules Committee
on 08/09/06
Alternate:  Ranchod

Sheri L. Pemberton
State Lands Commission
100 Howe Avenue, Suite 100-South
Sacramento, CA 95825-8202
Telephone: (916) 574-1800
Fax: (916) 574-1810
E-Mail: sheri.pemberton@slc.ca.gov
Alternate to Lucchesi
Appointed by: State Lands Commission
 on 08/30/12

Dave Pine
County of San Mateo
400 County Government Center
Redwood City CA 94063
Telephone: 650-363-4571
Fax: (650) 368-3012
E-Mail: dpine@co.sanmateo.ca.us
Commissioner
Appointed by: San Mateo County on 05/24/11
Alternate: Groom

Sanjay M. Ranchod
SolarCity
3055 Clearview Way
San Mateo, CA 94402
Telephone: (650) 332-0453
Fax:  (650) 560-6567
E-Mail: sranchod@solarcity.com
Alternate to Nelson
Appointed by: Senate Rules Committee
on 11/30/09

R. Sean Randolph
Bay Area Council Economic Institute
201 California Street, Suite 1450
San Francisco, CA 94111
Telephone: (415) 981-7117
Fax: (415) 981-6408
E-Mail: sean@bayareacouncil.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Schwarzenegger
on 05/06/05
Alternate:  (Vacant)

Bijan Sartipi
California Department of Transportation
District 4
111 Grand Avenue
P.O. Box 23660
Oakland, CA 94623-0660
Ph: (510)286-5900
Fax: (510) 286-5903
E-mail: bijan_sartipi@dot.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: California State Transportation Agency
on 12/09/09
Alternate: McElhinney

Greg Scharff
City of Palo Alto
250 Hamilton Avenue
Palo Alto, CA 94301
Phone: (650) 329-2100
E-Mail: greg.scharff@cityofpaloalto.org
Alternate to Cortese
Appointed by: Santa Clara County
on 02/12/13

Kathrin Sears
Board of Supervisors
Marin County
Marin County Civic Center
3501 Civic Center Drive, Room 329
San Rafael CA 94903
Telephone: 415-473-7331
Fax: (415) 473-3645
E-mail: ksears@marincounty.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Marin County on 06/21/11
Alternate: Adams

Jim Spering
Board of Supervisors
Solano County
675 Texas Street, Suite 6500
Fairfield CA 94533-6342
Telephone: (707) 784-6136
Fax: (707) 784-6655
E-Mail: jimzspering@cs.com
Commissioner
Appointed by Solano County on 1/11/11
Alternate: Vasquez

Jill Techel
City of Napa
955 School Street
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 257-9513
Fax: (707) 257-9534
E-Mail: jtechel@cityofnapa.org  
Commissioner
Appointed by: Association of Bay Area Governments
on 03/15/12
Alternate:  Hillmer

John Vasquez
Board of Supervisors
Solano County
675 Texas Street, Suite 6500
Fairfield CA 94533-6342
Telephone: 707-784-6129
Fax: 707-784-6655
E-Mail: jmvasquez@solanocounty.com
Alternate to Spering
Appointed by Solano County on 1/11/11

Amy Vierra
California Natural Resources Agency
1416 Ninth Street, Room 1311
Sacramento, CA 95814
Telephone: (916) 653-9416
Fax: (916) 653-8102
E-Mail: amy.vierra@resources.ca.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by:
Secretary for Resources
on 10/01/11
Alternate:  Doherty

Brad Wagenknecht
Napa County
1195 Third Street, Room 310
Napa, CA 94559
Telephone: (707) 253-4828
Fax: (707) 253-4176
E-Mail: brad.wagenknecht@countyofnapa.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Napa County
on 01/03/05; reappointed on 01/06/09; 01/11/11
Alternate: Caldwell

Shirlee Zane
County of Sonoma
575 Administration Drive, Room 100A
Santa Rosa, CA 95403
Telephone: (707) 565-2241
Fax: (707) 565-3778
E-Mail: Shirlee.Zane@sonoma-county.org
Alternate to Gorin
Appointed by: Sonoma County on 01/08/13

Sam Ziegler
EPA-Region 9 (WTR-3)
75 Hawthorne Street
San Francisco, CA 94105
Telephone: (415) 972-3399
Fax: (415) 947-3537
E-Mail: ziegler.sam@epa.gov
Commissioner
Appointed by: U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
on 02/25/10
Alternate: Brush

Alexander Zwissler
10000 Skyline Blvd.
Oakland, CA 94619
Telephone: (510) 336-7383
E-Mail: azwissler@chabotspace.org
Commissioner
Appointed by: Governor Brown
on 05/07/13
Alternate:  (Vacant) 

Legislative Appointees

California State Senate

The Honorable Loni Hancock
State Capitol, Room 2082
Sacramento, CA 95814-4900
Telephone: (916) 651-4009

Alternate (Vacant)

Assembly Representative

Tom Ammiano
State Capitol, Room 4005
Sacramento, CA  95814
Telephone: (916) 319-2013
Fax: (916) 319-2113

Alternate (Vacant)

 

Vacancies

Alternate to Chiu

Alternate to Finn

Alternate to Gioia

Alternate to Hicks

Alternate to Jordan Hallinan

Alternate to Zwissler

Alternate to Randolph

Alternate to Wasserman

Executive Director
Lawrence J. Goldzband
455 Golden Gate Avenue, Suite 10600
San Francisco, CA 94102-7019
Telephone: (415) 352-3653
Fax: (415) 352-3606
E-Mail: lgoldzband@bcdc.ca.gov

 


COMMISSIONERS AND ADVISORS REPRESENTING THE COMMISSION
ON OTHER COMMISSIONS, COMMITTEES, OR BOARDS

Association of Bay Area Governments Regional Planning Committee
Vacant

Joint Policy Committee
R. Zachary Wasserman
Geoffrey Gibbs
John Gioia
Kathrin Sears
Brad Wagenknecht

Metropolitan Transportation Commission
Anne Halsted

Regional Agencies Smart Growth Steering Committee
John Gioia

Regional Airport Planning Committee
Tom Bates
Geoffrey Gibbs
Sean Randolph

Seaport Planning Advisory Committee
Anne Halsted, Chair

San Francisco Bay Harbor Safety Committee
Jim McGrath
(Alternate: Linda Scourtis)