January 19, 2012 Commission Meeting Summary

18 members attended the meeting, which was held at the Metro Center in Oakland.

The Commission voted (18-0-0) to make revisions to the San Francisco Bay Plan and San Francisco Bay Area Seaport Plan provisions dealing with Hunters Point in San Francisco. For details, contact Linda Scourtis (415/352-3644 lindas@bcdc.ca.gov).

The Commission received a briefing on the 34th America’s Cup. For details, contact Lindy Lowe, Senior Planner (415/352-3642 lindyl@bcdc.ca.gov) or Ming Yeung, Coastal Program Analyst (415/352-3616, mingy@bcdc.ca.gov).

The Commission voted (16-0-0) to authorize the Executive Director to enter into the contracts associated with the $945,000 in Coastal Impact Assistance Program (CIAP) funds awarded to BCDC by the U.S. Department of the Interior’s Bureau of Ocean Energy Management, Regulation, and Enforcement (BOEMRE) for the Commission’s Climate Change and Sediment Management Programs. For details, contact Jessica Davenport (415/352-3669 jessicad@bcdc.ca.gov) or Brenda Goeden (415/352-3623 brendag@bcdc.ca.gov

The Commission deferred a briefing on the Commission’s Adapting to Rising Tides project to a later meeting. For details, contact Lindy Lowe, Senior Planner (415/352-3642 lindyl@bcdc.ca.gov) or Wendy Goodfriend (415/352-3646 wendyg@bcdc.ca.gov).

Two new legal interns have joined the staff this semester from UC Hastings College of Law. Joanna (Joey) Meldrum is a second year law student with a Masters in Engineering. Joey is a licensed Civil Engineer, Professional Geologist and is LEED accredited. Last year Joey worked at the Coastal Commission and runs triathlons in her spare time. Joshua Yellin is also a second year student at Hastings, who has worked in the Environment and Natural Resources Division of the U.S. Department of Justice and the Office of General Counsel in the US Department of Agriculture in Washington DC. For details, contact Tim Eichenberg (415/352-3655 TimE@bcdc.ca.gov).

The next regular Commission meeting will be held on February 2, 2012, at the Ferry Building in San Francisco. For details, contact Leslie Muse (415/352-3636 lesliem@bcdc.ca.gov).

 
 
[an error occurred while processing this directive]